Design Domain Part 2

Uncategorised

Symposium

Jessica In –> David Clarke –> Panel

I did find Jessica’s talk to be interesting, how she had changed from being an architect into a more creative coding focused output.

David Clarke’s talk was once again rather interesting but I couldn’t relate to the subject that often. But he had a very good personality.

I don’t know how I feel about the panel, it was kind of interesting but I felt as though it was a bit too short. But it was really interesting to see the different outlooks on play that each of the speakers had.

Another Perspective

After getting reacquainted with this project, I started looking at it from different angles. From part 1 of the project I made it clear that I wanted to create drawings and turn them into stories. I still plan on doing that. But I started to think of an angle further than that and I looked into child drawings. The images below were all drawn by my young sister and it got me thinking about it is hard to interpret child drawings. As soon as you think you know what it is, the child will immediately say; “no, it’s not that”. I decided to look at a couple of articles about the psychology behing child drawings and they were really interesting, even though I wont add much about them here as I don’t think the content will directly flow with my writing in the journal. This had me realise what we go through in these situations is what the computer will go through when interpreting into the results. For this project I am prepared to get any kind of story even if it doesn’t directly relate to what was intentionally drawn. As we all have different perspectives, and we can interpret things in our own way.

Tutorial

Use runway instead of Sketch RNN as it would be too hard to get to work. Maybe speak into runway. Look at Andreas’ work; Doodle Tunes & Peral Beads. Look at SpadeCOCO. Change the form of input don’t make it just smears. Look at how to change final output. A collaborative composition. Human V Computer. Feedback loop.

Work

After being recommended in the tutorial to look at RunwayML, instead of using SketchRNN. I had a play about with the different applications in Runway that suited what I wanted to do.

SPADE-COCO

Screenshot 2020-02-24 at 14.59.22

BigGAN

Screenshot 2020-02-24 at 14.59.27Screenshot 2020-02-24 at 14.59.30

Spade-COCO

Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 00.25.58

img2txt

Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 00.27.51Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 14.22.09Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 14.22.23

Implementing some processing into runway so that it will save each outcome.

Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 13.50.54

Tutorial #2

get webcam – think about set up – actually make text outcomes – processing 

WORK

So I bought a webcam, to use with runway as well as processing but it seems that I cannot get the webcam/computers camera to work within processing. Thats not great. I’ve decided to change direction and instead of drawing on a paper and the webcam picks it up, I will use P5.JS to allow the user to draw the input. In P5.JS I have decided to create a drawing tool, that you can change the size of the brush and the colour of the brush.

I should also say that since I cannot use processing I have subsequently decided that it would be better to not use runway live. This would allow me to have an interactive piece to show at design domain. I will create so outputs prior to the exhibition, that will show what I have created and I will take the outputs from the exhibition and put them into runway to create a story.

Initial creation of drawing 

6875

further testing at home

I decided to change the statements,

so instead of ‘favourite’ it would simply been ‘your’.

this made it more personal and open to more interpretation.

Creating a narrative. so I have decided to put the drawings into ‘RunwayML’ into the ‘img2txt’ – which takes image and turns them into a text description of the image – to get a  statement about the drawing. I will then put them into ‘GTN-2’ which will create a chunk of text based on the statement, so I can create stories based on the images. Doing this allows for a completely new short story with varying degrees of consistency throughout. I feel that this lack of consistency within the stories allow for a more richer product to be created.

I did consider putting the drawing into Space-COCO so that the image could have more texture, but I felt that that takes away from the personal and storytelling aspect.


“Draw Your Paradise”,

“Draw Your Home”,

“Draw Your Love”,

“Draw Your Place”,

“Draw Your Movie”,

“Draw Your Pillows”,

“Draw Your Pet”,

“Draw Your Character”,

“Draw Your Life”,

“Draw Your Flower”,

“Draw Your Food”,

“Your Sunset”,

“Your Sunrise”


A pair of scissors and a pair of scissors.

 

6875

 


a close up of a cake on a table.

 

155949

a close up of a cake on a table. It was a pretty serious cake, and the cake was pretty large and thin. I thought it would be pretty sweet, but the cake was too thick and too small for my taste. The edges of the cake were soft and stiff, and I thought I would be more than happy to have the cake with a soft texture. The edges of the cake were thin, but I thought it would be pretty sweet, but the cake was too thick and too small for my taste.

a close up of a cake on a table and was finished. I couldn’t resist the opportunity to have this cake in my hands. The cake was stuffed into a freezer and it was done before it was ready to be served. I was very impressed with how well it turned out. The cake was so good I was happy to have it in my hands. This cake is an incredible cake! I had my whole life to get it. I am so happy with it. I will never forget how much I love it. It was really great to have this cake. I am so excited to have it in my hands! I am so happy to have it in my hands! I am so happy to have it in my hands!

a close up of a cake on a table, I always think the cake would last about six months, so I decided to take the cake and still listen to it and get it. A little more than a year ago I used to be thinking ‘what better way to put something together than this guy,'” he says. “I thought they’d beat my ribs. I started thinking ‘what better way to put something together than this guy?'”

a cake on a table, which contains this creamy dessert. The recipe for this is easy to follow, but it does take a bit to get it right.
I followed up the recipe a bit and gave a try out of the pastry and chocolate frosting. If you use almond butter, the frosting also needs to be rubbed gently. The frosting will then be thick and black. On some crust, the frosting should be toasted and easy to prepare


a street sign with a sky background

 

174239

a street sign with a sky background over it. The dog is walking with an elderly man and a white man in a crosswalk. The dog is relaxing on his feet and walking away. The dog is now gone. The dog and his family are leaving it in the park and heading to live with their dog. No one was hurt.The dog can move freely when it is put under the crosswalk. It can’t see, has light, or walks. As you see, it can’t even spot the dog. Sometimes people walk over an overly “unspoken” situation. Your dog can crosswalk and it can’t be touched without your help.


A person holding a kite

 

217742
a person holding a kite of dead people in a Japanese cemetery. They were carrying the bodies of hundreds of people who were slaughtered as an attempt to spread the rumor that one person was buried in a grave.


a flock of birds sitting on top of a power line.

 

260259

a flock of birds sitting on top of a power line. They lie in row upon row, looking for passage. The bird is resting in a row of blankets, pulling on water, all while the birds, who lie in darkness, appear powerless to guide the birds away. Upon approaching the birds, they sound almost dejected and stop on their journey, knowing only that they have grown older. When the birds begin to get too close to the fence, the birds stop at the doors and move back onto the platform. This is when the birds become extremely close to the fence.

a flock of birds sitting on top of a power line … in some cases there is a risk that one of the birds will be injured because the power lines are broken off.
The danger of the power lines, as the riders progress to the rear, is also expressed in the combination of the indications that people are shifting quickly to the side. Several people have already found the lights on the deck


a man flying through the air while riding skis

 

274845

a man flying through the air while riding skis is hot, set to stay in the area until only the person behind can be heard shouting,” I hold back. Here” he has the bodyguard, and the helicopter operator is in touch. If you can” understand why the sheriff wasn’t there… a third world country is literally “called the end of the world.‡ he says in his own words.

a man flying through the air while riding skis on a bike as his grandmother hit her on top of a boating boat on an apartment complex in East Chicago on July 20, 2015. John Blatchy, a 17-year-old cyclist on the Brooklyn neighborhood’s streets, told reporters during a news conference the mother who witnessed the incident was thrilled to share the harrowing story of her son and his siblings who were hit by a storm storm. “I don’t know what happened that way,” she said. “The wind definitely hit my head. I couldn’t understand what was going on. I was conscious.”


a blue and white kite flying in the sky

 

20676

a blue and white kite flying in the sky to work. The Earth resembles a black cloud, as a compass and compass. The inside of the air is a sparkling green glaze with a deep yellow white color. While the magnetic field created the atmosphere, it was lighter, more colorful and darker than the dark of the sky. It was a vivid sky and the only visible star on Earth had a bright white color. The place on which the light was scattered, its only visible white color. An amber fog shroud in one of the cloud holes after the other.


a close up of a cake on a table

 

48157

a cake on a table,” he said. “Now just start with family dinner. You think I made the right decision? Don’t you think I caused the Halifax community to get involved? I think I didn’t. I couldn’t expect the world to be so different. I had a privilege to meet with Local Leader Otah Katz during Wilmington’s height and well before that. I spoke to Chicago City Council Member William Bennett, chairman of the Halifax City Council” removed from the council’s 2020 II plan.

Exhibition

For the exhibition, I simply showed the drawing tool. I did this as I couldn’t have run RunwayML live. I obviously got a variety of drawing from people, but it does let you see the different way people interpret the statements, that I had placed.

After the exhibition, I took in some of the drawings shown above into Runway to create more stories. I have shown this in my video documentation below.

Video Documentation


Conclusion

Overall I am very happy with the output that I have creates for this project. When I started the second part of this project, I realised I made a mistake by not prototyping my Ideas sooner. So I am quite glad I managed to pull together a piece that looks succinct in its function and capabilities. I honestly think what is letting me down in this project as I used the Runway models instead of trying to make my own. I did this as I didn’t really want to have imaged based output, or at least not one where I would have hundreds of photos on hand to train the data set. On the Monday following the exhibition, Runway now has the capabilities create text generative models. If this was out whilst I was doing design domain I would have used this in my work and created a model using fairy tales such as Grimm’s Fairy Tales and Hans Christian Andersons work among others. I wish that it was released when I was making this project but I guess that it was meant to be as I still made a piece of work that I was happy with. Along with a lot of others using it.

Leave a comment